Palau – July, 2016


Dates: July 26- July 27, 2016

Divers: Dr. Stuart Sandin, Dr. Brian Zgliczynski

Lead Organization: OneReef, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

The Palau archipelago comprises 12 inhabited islands and over 700 small islands and islets located 750 km east of The Philippines and north of the Equator. Together the islands total 488 km2 land area (1,519 km of coastline) and span 700 km across Oceania (CIA World Factbook). Islands surveyed during this expedition include Kayakngel and Ngaruangel, in the northernmost state of Palau (24km north of Koror), and Angaur located on the southwestern end of the archipelago.